Weapon Of Choice (Book 3 of Laura Nelson Series)

Published by:
Oceanview Publishing

Hard Cover, Paperback, Audio

AVAILABLE ON ALL E-READERS!

ISBN:978-1-60809-051-22

Life is good for Dr. Laura Nelson. Her kids have their ups and downs, but seem well adjusted to high school and college; her research project at the university is going well; and she is highly regarded as the chief of surgery at Tampa City Hospital. This sense of tranquility is disrupted when she is drawn into the diagnosis of the first case of HIV/AIDS seen in Tampa.

But the challenge of this new disease is dwarfed by the disaster that impacts Laura’s life a few days later. A highly resistant bacterial infection is raging in the surgical intensive care unit, and patients are dying. To make matters worse, Laura’s daughter is exposed to the bacteria and begins to show symptoms.

Desperate at this point, Laura calls her young friend, Dr. Stacy Jones, at the CDC in Atlanta. Stacy arrives in Tampa, unaware that a deadly plot is underway in Atlanta as a covert white supremacist cell plans an unthinkable attack on a massive scale.

Caught in the middle, Laura and Stacy encounter an opportunity to connect the Tampa nightmare with the impending Atlanta devastation, but can they prevent it?

  • Relentless suspense and pitch-perfect medical details make Weapon of Choice a knockout, a truly infectious thriller you won’t be able to put down!

    -Tess Gerritsen, New York Times Best-selling Author
  • Authentic, insightful, and incredibly scary – everything a powerful medical thriller should be!  Fans of Robin Cook and Michael Palmer will be riveted by this cautionary tale – and fans of fast-paced suspense will be checking their pulse as they fly through the pages.

    -Hank Phillippi Ryan, Anthony, Agatha and Macavity-winning Author
  • This is a taut and fast-moving thriller set against a dramatic backdrop…For fans of medical thrillers, a solid and satisfying read.

    -Booklist
  • Patricia Gussin really knows how to spin a story that makes you really, really afraid of the what ifs. She did her homework and got the right groundwork to make her novel so realistic. This is a shocking novel that will really make you think this could really happen at any time, in any city…a very fast moving story about greed, racial tensions and hatred. I highly recommend this book.

    -MysteriesGalore, BestSellersWorld
  • …engrossing third medical thriller featuring Dr. Laura Nelson…There are too many organisms in the petri dish, but Gussin manages to bring it all together for a slam-bang finish.

    -Publishers Weekly
  • Gussin has written an edge-of-your-seat medical thriller, and fans of authors like Michael Palmer James Rollins will find her satisfying.

    -Brodart Vibe
  • Weapon of Choice is an easy-to-enjoy addition to the hospital-based medical thriller genre, a type of book which seems to be less common lately…fast-moving sequences…well-paced climax…From the opening scene, the author establishes her credibility to write medical-themed fiction. Though set in the recent past, Weapon of Choice raises very contemporary concerns about antibiotic resistance, bioweapons, and containment.

    -ScienceThrillers
  • Switching setting and point of view with skillful pacing, Patricia Gussin builds enormous tension as time is about to run out to control the emergency in Tampa and thwart the plot in Atlanta.

    -San Francisco Book Review
  • Strongly etched heroes and villains anchor a top-notch bio-medical thriller that rivals the best work of such masters as Robin Cook and Michael Crichton.

    -Sacramento Book Review
  • Set in 1985, the doomsday premise of Weapon of Choice seems just as eerily possible today.

    -Portland Book Review
  • Weapon of Choice by Patricia Gussin, while written as fiction, could happen in real life…Our lives…Not a happy thought. Gussin is a physician, which is evident from the book she has written. She writes with authority while producing a work of fiction that will haunt you…This is a compelling story that will have you flipping pages well into the night. Don’t miss Weapon of Choice.

    -Bookloons
  • Weapon of Choice is a medical thriller that’s intriguing, compelling and tension-filled. The twist and turns make the book exciting and will surely keep you on edge. Kudos to Patricia Gussin for creating a book that’s truly a thriller— It’s like watching a thriller movie!

    -Fresh Fiction
  • Weapon of Choice kept me on the edge of my seat…Gussin’s medical experience brings authenticity to every page. The twists and turns kept the tension high and my poor fingernails ended up bitten to the quick. If you like medical dramas and/or thrillers then you’ll want to check this one out.

    -PopcornReads
  • Weapon of Choice is a medical thriller that’s intriguing, compelling and tension-filled. The twist and turns make the book exciting and will surely keep you on edge.

    -Bookshelf Confessions